Old Boots, New Dirt- Jason Aldean

Jason Aldean released his new album Old Boots, New Dirt, last week. It has taken me a few days to get this album into my musical diet, and I am sorry it took me so long! Jason never disappoints, for me at least. His albums he has released have all been pretty consistently good, which is rare for me with country artists. Old Boots, New Dirty has the same Jason Aldean feel that you want to feel on an album, but it also has some of this new wave country on here too. My favorite songs off the album are: “Show You Off”, “Laid Back”, and “Burning It Down”. There’s so many good songs on this album it was really difficult to pick just three!

“Show You Off” is good country song about girl. Where he wants to show off his lady, I mean I know I have been there. It’s a good song that caught my ear, with its catchy lyrics. It has some nice guitar riffs too that also are a nice fit. It just stands out as a feel good track to me, I don’t know why but it just does.

“Laid Back” is a kick back cruising song, that you going to want to jam while your heading down the road or the freeway. At the beginning for a split second, the guitar riff sounded like it was about to be a Weezer song. Then the twang kicked in and I was knocked back to that country feel. The chorus is super catchy it had my head nodding.

“Burning it down”, one of the first singles I heard from this album and I wasn’t impressed. I wasn’t Impressed at first, but then it started to grow on me. What really bugged me was the begging sounds kind of techno’ish. But what I do like is the slowness feel that it has to it, or what I call night music. I love some slow country sometimes, especially for night drives home when I get off from work or just for the ride home.

Jason Aldean like I said before never disappoints. This album is great, it was everything I wanted it to be, and it didn’t just have two tracks that I liked. It had my ear captivated the way through the album; I could listen to this album for days. I really hope Jason, keeps it up with his music, which he seems to be able to do looking at his past albums. It would be pretty cool if he did a secret show at a local country bar (Borderline please!), but highly unlikely. Anyway country fans will enjoy this album, it has something for each type of country fan and every type of country feel you want.

jason-aldean-old-boots-new-dirt-album-cover

Leave a Reply

