Dark Sky Paradise – Big Sean

Big Sean released his third studio album last Tuesday titled Dark Sky Paradise. This album is really good and a lot better than his last album Hall of Fame. This album is my favorite out his discography so far. This album has one or two tracks that I did not like at all, and that’s a lot less than his previous album. The two tracks that I did not like are ” I Know”, and “Deep”, They just didn’t feel as good as the rest of the tracks on the album or the bonus tracks. That being said my favorite tracks are ” All Your Fault”, ” One Man Can Change The World”, and ” Deserve It”

” All Your Fault Feat. Kanye West “: This track as soon as I heard it I had a big smile on my face. That’s how I know for me that I love a track; the sample on this is so good. Then Kanye came on the track with that verse that was crazy! With lyrics like ” Young Walt Disney, I’m tell you truthfully If you leave Mickey you gon’ end up with a Goofy.” Kanye came in full force on this track, if that was enough Big Sean delivered a fire verse as well. Favorite quote from Big Sean was ” Headed home to the D where you know I keep a Gina (GINA!)”. A little reference to one of my favorite TV shows “Martin”. This song is far too short in my opinion, its that good that I have had it on repeat for a while.

“One Man Can Change The World Feat Kanye West, John Legend”: This track gave me Goosebumps right when I heard it, the track shocked and awed me. It’s an inspirational track that you can put on a gym playlist. The chorus reminded me of something my brother might say to me, if he felt like being serious I can see my brother saying this to me. The piano in the back is my favorite part of the track; it fits nicely with Big Sean rapping along side it. The last verse of Big Sean’s where he talks about his Grandma who just recently just passed was very sweet. The last part where he has a phone call between his Grandma and him is very sweet too.

“Deserve it Feat PARTYNEXTDOOR” What caught my ear from this track was sample and the beat of this one. It sounds like a track that Drake might jump on, but he didn’t. Instead another OVO crewmember did. One quote that I like from this track was “Don’t play no games with hoes, I play Nintendo DS, “. The track is full of good quotes, and good word play its one of many tracks that I love on this album. I choose this one because it just sounds so good, nice and slow with some great lyrics.

This album is truly different from what I am used to hear from Big Sean. Despite the two weak songs on the album, this is definetly a good approach and the right direction Big Sean should follow. His last album was slacking to make an impact last summer, I can tell you there isn’t many songs on that last album that I cared to even to listen to now. This album though has many more tracks than the ones that are listed above; the intro is one that made it close to my top three. The production and the energy he brings to most of this album is crazy good. For any hip/hop fan they would like this album, as long as they don’t compare to the greats of the rap game.

big-sean-dark-sky-paradise

Leave a Reply

