Trust Fall ( Side A) – Incubus

Finally! FINALLY! Incubus released their new Ep Trust Fall (Side A)! Incubus is by far one of my favorite bands ever. When I got the e-mail Monday night that my pre-order for the album was ready, I couldn’t have been more excited! I didn’t have any money to download it though, but luckily a friend reminded it me that it was on spotify! I listened to this album for most of the day yesterday. It’s only four songs but every one of them is great! As well since its only four songs I actually get to review each one! But I will say that my absolute favorite song off this Ep is ” Make Out Party”. I will go in order of which songs I like the most.

“Make Out Party”. This is my absolute favorite song; I love the heavy bass on this song as well. As well Brandon does his high-pitched singing on here, which sounds perfect alongside the drums and the bass. The lyrics on the song are pretty good as well, this song reminds me of “Here In My Room” off of A Crow Left Of The Murder. I listened to this song more than any other song off this Ep. It has those explicit lyrics that aren’t as hidden in “Here In My Room”.

“Trust Fall”. The self-title track off this Ep is really neat. I like how in the beginning its all quite and then Brandon sings quietly “Its only a trust fall”, and then comes in the sound. The drums leading up to the choruses are pretty great to. I like the ending of this song as well, where Brandon starts saying this poem.It’s a perfect ending to the song in my opinion.

“Dancing Like You’re Dumb” I like the guitar riffs and upbeat tempo on this song a lot. I like it because its like right in the middle of new incubus and old incubus sounds. The beginning of the song is pretty cool with the 1950’s little snippet about doing drugs. I just like this one because it’s different and is just it has a lot more of that rock feel to it.

“Absolution Calling” When I first heard the intro to this song I didn’t like it at all, but then I heard the rest of the whole song all together and I was impressed. I really like the chorus of the song because when you hear him say “are you there?” It reminds me of “are you in” chorus. Yes I know similar first two words. Regardless this song is still really good and I was glad this was one of the singles off the album because it did draw me into this new Ep.

This Ep is absolutely great; if you are a big Incubus fan like I am then you will love this album. Each song is great and I am glad I didn’t just have to pick only three songs off this Ep. It has you wanting more songs after hearing the four songs. There really isn’t any Incubus album or Ep that has been released that I did not like. I love that they continue to grow as a band and grow musically too; it really does keep things interesting. I just can’t wait till the second half of the album to be released! Anyway great album go buy it, it’s pretty cheap.

tmprU3z2F_jpg_475x310_q85

Leave a Reply

