Free Weezy Album – Lil Wayne

Lil Wayne released another project this year titled Free Weezy Album (FWA) amidst his feud with Birdman and Cash Money Records. This album is really, really, REALLY, disappointing. At this point I think Lil Wayne is just trying to put out records to get out of his contract with Cash Money records. The singles leading up to Tha Carter V were great and it looked like the old Lil Wayne was back. Then all that trouble happened with Cash Money and Birdman. This album isn’t what I was expecting to hear from Lil Wayne and I am a really big Lil Wayne fan don’t get me wrong. This isn’t the Lil Wayne people want to hear though. My favorite three songs off this album though are ” Glory” “Murda” “Living Right”

” Glory” This song made me think that this album would be amazing. Lil Wayne went off on this beat and was killing this beat. This beat is amazing I love it, its sounds great and sounds great bumping real loud in my car. I haven’t heard Lil Wayne go this hard since his No Ceilings Mixtape. This my absolute favorite number one track off the album.

“Murda” The title of this track says it all. Lil Wayne murders this track, he sounds hungry on this track. He sounds like he has something to prove on this track and he shouldn’t have to but after hearing the rest of the tracks on this album I understand why he sounds like this. Capo, Cory Gunz, and Junior Red all accompany Wayne on the track and add great verses on the track but Lil Wayne dominates the track. The chorus on the track is catchy too as well.

“Living Right” A mellower track off the album and a feature from Wiz Khalifa. Wiz Khalifa and Lil Wayne both add great verses. Wiz Khalifa sounds better on this album than his last album, hopefully this is a good sign of good things to come from him. I really like Wiz’s verse on this track a lot more than Lil Wayne’s verse on this song. This is a chilling and kick back song that you can put on a nice day and just put your feet up.

This album wasn’t great, and I really hope Tha Carter V is amazing. This is just in my opinion to get out of his contract with Birdman. This isn’t much better than that rock album that he tried to do a few years back, and that isn’t saying much. Honestly the only good songs off this album are the ones I mentioned the rest of the songs just sound like Lil Wayne is just saying random things alongside beats. Lets hope Lil Wayne’s next album or Mixtape is a lot better than this.
lil-wayne-fwa-cover

Leave a Reply

