Untitled- Kendrick Lamar

King Kendrick surprised fans a few weeks ago with a surprise side b album titled Untitled. This untitled album has a lot of songs that were supposed to be on To Pimp a Butterfly and possibly some songs that didn’t make the cut for Good kid M.a.d.d. City. It also has some of his freestyles that he performed on various talk shows. This whole album of side b’s are absolutely great, I was very happy with a lot of these songs. My favorite three are ” Untitled 02| 06.23.2014″, “Untitled 07| 2014-2016″, and ” Untitled 08| 09.06.2014″.

“Untitled 02| 06.23.2014.”- I like the slow melodic rap flow that kendrick has on this song. I also love the back beat that fits perfect alongside Kendricks voice. My favorite part though is around  2:18 when kendrick starts to rap a little faster than he previously was on the track. Its a little jazzy, and thats fine and it works well with Kendrick. I like the horn and the piano that come out on the beat every so often.

“Untitled 07| 2014-2016”- My favorite part about this song is that its simple but still catchy, like when Kendrick says “Levitate,Levitate, Levitate”. The feel and vibe of this song is dark but it has a great backbeat and the really high bass sounds great. It has the same beginning as track 2, which I didn’t like too much because I just wanted the song to start. However, I like the second half because it switched up the beat and the flow from the first half of the song.

“Untitled 08| 09.06.2014”- I really liked the upbeat, funky, jazzy beat this track has. It reminds me of the track “I”, I think it should have came right after this song. I like the chorus on this song as well, it is very catchy and gets you singing right alongside it. Its a feel good song and is great to listen to on a day when you’re feeling extra good.

This album is great! It was a nice surprise from the drought of new music I was experiencing. Yes, it has no album titles, thats the only criticism I have for this album, but thats not even a bad thing to complain about. Every track on here is great for songs that didn’t get to fit onto his new album. It is also better than a lot of the new rap thats been coming out lately, this has actually substance and a good feel to it. It’s a must buy for any hip-hop fan.

 

bffac07ce541abbb1f2fd1f709ca4e85.1000x1000x1

Leave a Reply

