Still Brazy- YG

YG, west coast native, finally released his sophomore album, Still Brazy. Although, there is no Dj mustard production on here, to my knowledge, I feel like if Mustard was on some of these tracks it would have made some a lot better. These tracks are great but the production could be a little bit better.Yg stepped up his storytelling ability on this album. He is really keeping his beats and sound very west coast and I LOVE that. My favorite tracks off this album are “Still Brazy”,”Why You Always Hating”, and ” Twist My Fingaz”.

“Still Brazy”- What I like about this song is the beat, it makes me nod my head as soon as it comes on. What’s also cool about this song is that it stands out with his lyricism; its more conscious than YG is used to being. Its refreshing to hear him evolve and go hard on a track. I also love the chorus, its really catchy and makes you want to bump the song really loud.

” Why You Always Hating”- I like this song because it sounds really good with a nice system and it bumps really hard in the car. I can see this song going off in a club, especially with  Drake on the track, you know its going to be a club banger. Whenever YG and Drake do a track together its always good and catchy.

“Twist My Fingaz” – This song’s beat sounds really similar to Without Me by Eminem and YG raps alongside it really well. I also like how he calls out the bloods in the industry and the fake rappers who claim they are bloods. This is an issue for him because they claim they’re bloods but they haven’t lived that life and are not repping it.

I liked this album! It was just as good as his first album. YG really stepped up his game here and I think the reason why people are comparing this album to kendrick’s GKMC is because of all of the little skits. It is completely opposite of Kendricks first album and Kendrick himself. They both are telling two different stories from the same place, which is interesting to hear and compare. I prefer Kendrick’s style, it’s a lot more conscious than YG’s and that’s perfect. I don’t like when other artist bite each others sound, there’s too much of that going on.Unknown

Leave a Reply

